Pattern Review: Knot Your Average Shirt and Dress by 5 out of 4 Patterns

5 out of 4 Patterns recently released their inaugural pattern, the Knot Your Average Shirt and Dress. I was fortunate to be part of the testing process before the pattern was released.

With detailed instructions for maternity and nursing modifications, this pattern is perfect for expectant and new mothers. The drape lines and ruching option make this dress flattering for many different figures.

The pattern starts out on the right foot, with layers for printing individual sizes and no-trim pages. Those little details certainly speed up the printing and pattern assembly process. Lets face it, who doesn’t want to get right to the sewing?

One thing I have learned about sewing up a new pattern for myself, is that I have to make a muslin. There are almost always modifications I need to make for a proper fit. I chose to start out with the top pattern, and used a 100% cotton, double layered jersey knit.

Knot Your Average Top

I loved this shirt the night I finished it. It was super comfy and didn’t need any major alterations. I love that there are different cut lines for the bodice, depending on cup size. That feature saved me one of the biggest alterations I typically make.

I wore the shirt the next day, and as the day went on I noticed what poor stretch recovery the jersey had. By the end of the day, it seemed like I was constantly pulling the knot up and back into place. Lesson learned. Lycra should be a very important component to the fabric chosen for this pattern.

On to take two, and time to try out the dress pattern. This time, I made sure to choose a fabric with better stretch recovery and ended up using a very lightweight, lycra blend, sweater knit.

Knot Your Average Dress

I love the elbow length sleeves. It’s not a length that I see very often, but I like how it hides less than toned triceps without being too warm for the Florida climate. The slight A line shape of the skirt is very flattering while still allowing for a slim silhouette.

The construction of this pattern was surprisingly simple, which makes it a fairly quick sew. I would probably rate it for a confident beginner. There are enough options for the pattern to be versatile, but not so many that a beginner would become overwhelmed with choices.

The Knot Your Average Shirt and Dress pattern can be found here. I am definitely looking forward to seeing more patterns from 5 out of 4 Patterns.

Leave a Comment

