Sewing For Boys: Boys Can Wear Pink

10403212_10203606554227703_5404214825045129306_n

Last month, the Bug’s preschool class learned all about colors. They focused on a different color each day for the first few weeks, and then finished up the month with rainbows. For the first few days we got lucky, and just happened to dress him in the color of the day. Then it became a mission. His teachers sent home a list of the upcoming colors at the end of the first week, and I set out to plan his wardrobe to coordinate. I hit a bit of a snag when I realized that he didn’t own a single article of clothing that would fit the bill for Pink Day. It was the only color he was missing, which is not entirely surprising since pink is not exactly my favorite color.  I ended up finding a great pink patchwork madras at Joann’s and combined it with gray twill for these Rabbit Rabbit Creations Endless Summer Bucket Shorts.

DSC_0040

I love these shorts. The pockets are perfect for highlighting special fabrics, and are wide enough that small hands have no trouble getting little treasures in and out. I tested the pattern for Rabbit Rabbit Creations last fall, and they are definitely my favorite shorts pattern. He wore a gray polo with them for Pink Day.

Shortly after Pink Day at preschool, I heard about Kelly’s (Handmade Boy) idea for the Boys Can Wear Pink series. I love the whole concept of this series. After all, pink is just a color. People should be allowed to wear any color they like, regardless of gender.  I was eager to join in, and to show off my favorite new pair of shorts.

When I saw Handmade Boy’s stencil tutorial on Day 1 of the series, I had to try it out.  I used Titchy Thread’s Rowan Tee to make the Bug’s shirt. If you are looking for one go-to tee pattern, definitely check this one out. I made the simplest version for this shirt, but there are almost 150 different option combinations in this pattern. If you’re on a budget, and only want one kid’s tee pattern, this is the pattern to get. You can make so many different and unique shirts with it.

DSC_0109

When I first told Mark that I was going to be participating in the Boys Can Wear Pink series, I knew he would be supportive. He is the kind of man that will support his family in just about anything they want to attempt. I did not expect him to jump aboard wholeheartedly and suggest matching outfits. His only request was a small wording change in the stencil. It’s too bad there isn’t an adult bucket shorts pattern, or I might have been able to get him into a pair of plaid shorts. He firmly believes that plaid shorts should only be worn by men on a golf course, and has resisted all of my arguments otherwise.

After Mark planted the idea of father/son shirts in my head, I couldn’t shake it. The Bug has been Mark’s biggest fan since the day he was born, and I knew that he would love to dress just like his Daddy. I set out to find patterns that could be used for a father/son button down shirt set. Something that Mark could wear to work and the Bug could wear to school. I considered Scientific Seamstress’s Bowling Shirt, but was looking for something a little more fitted. I decided on Sis Boom’s Marco and Ethan.

DSC_0142

This was the first time I had sewn a Scientific Seamstress/Sis Boom pattern. I have mixed feelings about them. I prefer nested (and layered) patterns, and these have each size separated. I was a little taken aback when I opened the first file and saw that it was more than 250 pages long. I relaxed a little when I found the included table detailing which pages to print for each size.

The patterns were easy to assemble, and the tutorial was written in a conversational style that made it very easy to follow. I love the 1/4″ seam allowances. I always feel like I am wasting fabric for a seam allowance over 3/8″.

Both the Marco and Ethan patterns only come with a long sleeve length. Mark and the Bug rarely wear long sleeves, so I shortened them. As far as pattern alterations go, it’s probably the simplest to make.

I am a little disappointed in the fit for both shirts. They are both a little larger than I envisioned. Based on the pattern photographs, I was expecting a slimmer fit. Mark’s measurements fall in the bottom of the range listed for an XL in the Marco, and the shirt is boxier than I expected. Next time I will try a large.

DSC_0173(1)

DSC_0137

I typically sew up a little in size for the Bug, so I expected his Ethan to be a little large. He will be able to wear this size 4 for a nice, long time before it is outgrown.

These patterns are definitely worth putting in the time and effort to get the fit just right. A nice button down shirt is necessary in any man’s (or boy’s) wardrobe.

I love that the guys in my life aren’t afraid to wear whatever color they like. I hope that the Bug will always have that attitude.

If this is your first exposure to the Boys Can Wear Pink blog series hosted by Handmade Boy, you can catch up on all of the posts here. I am so glad I was able to join this amazing and talented group. There have been some awesome creations, and I can’t wait to see what the last few days bring.

If you’ve been following the Boy’s Can Wear Pink series, you know all about the awesome giveaway that Handmade Boy has put together. This is an awesome prize pack, from some generous sponsors. Go show them some love after you enter the giveaway below.

10451056_10203685980053299_4539772564669910279_n

One yard of Stenzo Pit Stop Poplin in pink from Mabel Madison

$25 gift certificate, plus a surprise fat quarter from Phat Quarter Shop

One yard of solid cotton/lycra & one yard of coordinating fabric from Purple Seamstress

One pattern of choice from Paisley Roots

$20 store credit from Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop

One pattern of choice from Patterns for Pirates

One pattern of choice from Mouse House Creations

Bottoms Up Pants Pattern from If Only They Would Nap

One Pattern of choice from Titchy Threads

To enter, just leave me a comment and then click to visit a Rafflecopter giveaway and enter. There are only three days left, and your chances look pretty good.

8 thoughts on “Sewing For Boys: Boys Can Wear Pink

  1. Absolutely love the “Boys Can Wear Pink” theme! Wish it had been done when my son, now 29, was a little guy! But, now I can sew for my son, and his son!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Boys Can Wear Pink – Season 2 | The Bug's Bit

Leave a Comment

