Pattern Review: Sunrise Baby by Ellie Inspired

Ellie Inspired released their most recent patterns today, the Sunrise Girl (4-16) and Sunrise Baby (NB-36 mo). I was very happy to test the Sunrise Baby pattern, and used it to create this adorable St. Patrick’s Day themed outfit for the Bit.DSC_0027

The Sunrise Baby pattern includes a dress or top with a pleated bodice and cap or flutter sleeves, and bloomers. I chose the top with flutter sleeves and bloomers for the Bit.  The pleats in the bodice are an elegant detail that I just love. They allow the skirt to flare just the right amount for twirling, and it won’t be long before the Bit is a twirling machine.

The Sunrise Baby pattern includes instructions for hand embroidering simple stars on the pleated bodice, but the testers were given a little leeway for embellishments and I chose to use a decorative shamrock stitch that came preprogrammed into my sewing machine. Other testers embellished the bodice with beading or buttons, and some kept with the included stars. Another minor modification I made was to use a rolled hem on the flutter sleeves instead of the narrow hem called for in the pattern. With the white on white fabric I was using, I felt the top needed a little pop of color.DSC_0069

The bloomer pattern includes instructions for a lace or rick rack trim, but I chose to incorporate the shamrock detail from the bodice and the rolled hems from the sleeves instead. I really feel that it ties the whole outfit together.

DSC_0066Like many of the other Ellie Inspired patterns I have sewn (mostly labeled as Intermediate patterns), this pattern is best undertaken with some prior sewing experience. There are a few techniques that would most likely have a true, self-teaching beginner pulling out their hair. The computer generated and beautifully hand drawn diagrams do not always help me decipher exactly what should be done in a complicated step. Being self-taught myself, I prefer photographs for some things.

These same techniques are part of what results in a beautiful finished garment, both on the outside and the inside. The hand finishing techniques used for the bodice lining and placket are virtually invisible. The bias tape elastic casing protects sensitive skin and keeps the inside of the bloomers looking as nice as the outside. These little details make a huge difference in how professional the finished garment appears, and just like with every other Ellie Inspired pattern I have sewn, the finished garment is one that I am extremely proud of. This pattern may not have all of the neckline, hemline, and sleeve options that I am beginning to see other designers offer in patterns, but in my experience those other patterns don’t typically have the attention to detail found in an Ellie Inspired pattern. DSC_0075

If you have a little experience, but are still a little unsure about your ability to pull it off, join the Ellie Inspired Patterns Group on Facebook. The lovely ladies of Ellie Inspired are very active in the group and my questions have always been answered cheerfully. They’ve gone above and beyond trying to make sure I had what I needed to create the garment I envisioned. It is a great support system, and a positive environment to build your sewing skills. Plus, you never know when they might host a Game Night. If you play along, you might just win a free pattern.

Both the Sunrise Baby and Sunrise Girl patterns are 15% off through March 19, 2015. There is also a bundle that includes both Sunrise patterns and an adorable bonnet pattern on sale for only $15 through March 19, 2015. Just follow the links below.

Sunrise Baby
Sunrise Girl
Sunrise Bundle

DSC_0043DSC_0006DSC_0033

DSC_0001

Leave a Comment

